Ronda Horstman elected to Chairperson Elect of the American Association of Tissue Banks (AATB)

Ronda Horstman

Ronda Horstman, Vice President, Donor Services, has received the distinct honor and high privilege of being elected to the position of Chairperson-Elect of the American Association of Tissue Banks (AATB) Board of Governors.  The AATB is a professional, non-profit, scientific and educational organization that is dedicated to improving and saving lives by promoting the safety, quality and availability of donated human cells and tissue.  The AATB publishes Standards, accredits tissue banks, certifies personnel, conducts educational meetings, and interacts with regulatory agencies.

Ronda is a Certified Tissue Banking Specialist (CTBS) and has been a member of AATB since 2001.  She has been an active member of the Recovery and Donor Eligibility (formerly RADS) Council, serving as the Secretary, Vice Chair, and Chair/member of the Board of Governors. She has participated on many workgroups including the draft of the AATB Aseptic Technique Student Guide, been a coach for the AATB Emerging Leaders Program, and has been a member of the Public and Professional Relations and Accreditation Committees.  She is currently the Tissue Liaison on the Donate Life America Advisory Council and serves on the Advisory Board for Midwest Transplant Network.

Prior to joining CryoLife in 2007 as a Donor Services Account Manager, Ronda held many roles in the organ and tissue banking industry since 1996 working for LifeGift Organ Donation Center and Community Tissue Services.  She obtained her Bachelor of Science in Interdisciplinary Studies/Medical Management with a Minor in Business Administration from the University of Texas-Arlington.  She received her Associate of Arts and Certificate of Completion in Surgical Technology from Tarrant County College.  She is a Lean Six Sigma Yellow Belt and has also completed the Quality Auditor Training through the AATB.

Ronda received the 2000 Peer Recognition Award for Public and Professional Relations from AATB and was honored with a Distinguished Alumni Award for Tarrant County College in 2006.  She is also a four-time President’s Club award recipient for CryoLife.